Happy Weekend Cooking

August 31, 2010 § 2 Comments

I made black eye pea salad with quinoa yesterday! Inspired by Jess’s recipe. This was the first time I cooked quinoa. I couldn’t believe how tasty it was.

EVOO, chopped basil, parsley, garlic, lime juice, apple cider vingar, salt and pepper. WHISK.

I got organic black eye peas from a can. Make sure you soak it in water to get rid of the bitter taste. Cooked me some quinoa.

Add the rest of my favorite vegetables, tomatoes, cucumber, onions, peppers.

I like spicing things up with those little Japanese chillies. Chop them up and put them into just about anything.

I add sesame seeds to a lot of my dishes. In Chinese medicine, sesame is a good kidney and liver tonic, a great blood builder! Besides it’s super yummy.

And mix it up! I made enough to eat as salad along my other dishes the whole weekend!

**

Other than English breakfast, I made steamed eggs! One of my favorite eats my mom made back home. Whisk one part of egg and two parts of water together. Steam for 5-10 minute. Dash some dark soy sauce and sesame oil and sprinkle chopped scallion. It’s light, healthy and fluffy, a great treat for a lazy morning. Also great when you’re sick and don’t feel like eating solid food.

**

More black eye pea salad and lemon cream pasta. Whisk fresh lemon zest and juice with heavy cream and EVOO with some salt and pepper. Pour over cooked pasta and steamed broccoli. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese. Easy dinner served!

**

Time for some meat! I made lamb chops with balsamic reduction. Chop up some shallot and garlic and let them cook in balsamic vinegar until it reduces to 1/3. Enjoy the blissful smell!

Season lamb chops with salt, pepper, mixed spices and some paprika. Pan-sear.

Corn and summer squash. Lightly sautéed.

Yum!

**

We are ready to move in two days! Packing is always fun. Declutter makes me happy. Moonchi also had a great time terrorising suitcases and cardboard boxes.

I also had Japanese food, fish katsu bento box and also pulled pork arepa! Great weekend for my tasty bud.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Happy Weekend Cooking

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Weekend Cooking at the random place.

meta

